Meet the physicians at Pediatric Alliance!

Garbon profile pic

Hilary Garbon, M.D., F.A.A.P., I.B.C.L.C. – Pediatric Alliance —  Northland Division (2.5 years)


Birthplace:  St. Louis, MO (but I lived in 3 states before I turned one.  I grew up and spent most of my life in Fort Lauderdale, FL before moving to Pittsburgh).

Education:  Westminster Academy (Ft. Lauderdale, FL)/ University of Florida (B.S. Microbiology and Cell Science — 2002, go Gators!)/ University of Miami Medical School (M.D. – 2006 – not a fan of their football team!)

Training:  Residency at Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh.

Hospital Affiliations/Teaching:  West Penn Hospital, Magee Women’s Hospital, Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh/ Adjunct Professor of Pediatrics, University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine.

Professional Interests:  Breastfeeding (I am a certified lactation consultant), concussion management, early childhood nutrition.

My Inspiration:  My parents, neither of whom was a doctor.  They both encouraged me to keep learning and continue education beyond college.  My mom was a kindergarten teacher and I always knew I wanted to work with kids.  I also have an older sister and a younger brother, both of whom went to law school.  My sister is a writer and my brother practices law.  I love them and am so proud of both of them!

My Hero:  Not sure about hero, but my favorite person in this world is my husband.

School Memories:  I went to medical school in Miami and did most of my studying by the pool or at the beach.  The sunshine was my therapy to the stress of school.

My Mom And Dad Taught Me:  Make God and family a priority in life.  Work hard, but do what makes you happiest.

Patients Have Taught Me:  Life moves quickly and kids grow up so fast.  Savor every moment.

Funniest Thing A Patient Has Said:  “Do you want to go out with my dad?”

What Parents Can Do To Improve Their Child’s Health:  Eat dinner as a family and stay active.  Limit TV and video-game time.

Favorite Patient Age:  I love the babies!

Hobbies:  Cooking – I love trying new recipes and making homemade bread.  Travelling – my husband and I recently took a trip to Ireland and loved it!  A few other favorite places I’ve been are Tanzania, Croatia, Italy, and Morocco.  I would love to see Machu Picchu and hike the Inca trail.

Dogs or Cats:  Neither – I’m allergic to both!

PC or Mac:  PC, but I have an iPad.

Playing On My iPod:  Miles Davis and an Irish folk band we heard in a pub in Ireland.

Favorite Author:  I read a lot.  I like David Baldacci and Lee Child at the moment.  I just finished Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn, which was excellent.  I am currently reading the latest book in the George Martin Game of Thrones series.

Best Movie:  “Last of the Mohicans.”  The music gets me every time!

Favorite Vacation Spot:  Islamorada in the Florida Keys.  A dream vacation would be to Fiji.

Favorite Food:  Sushi — especially from Penn Ave. Fish Co.

Always In The Fridge:  Cheese, at least a few different varieties.

I’d Love To Dine With:  Both of my grandmothers – when they were my age.  They have both passed away, but there is so much more I would love to learn about their lives.

What People Don’t Know:  I am pregnant with my first child and due in late July!